Gylfi is back but Davies and Vorm depart

Oh Gylfi, Gyfli…..

After weeks of speculation, Gylfi Sigurdsson has finally re-signed for the Swans (the dash in the word ‘re-signed’ is very important). When he first signed back in January 2012 I was extremley pleased about it, (yes I sometimes do show emotion) even though he’d never kicked a ball for us. I had a feeling he would be a welcome addition to our team, just managing to oust out the ‘Most creative player in Europe’ at the time, Mark Gower.

11That officially official photo all clubs do

It’s not often I am that confident before seeing a player play for us, but in his short time at the Liberty he provided us with some great moments. West Brom away in the snow was probably my favourite, those two great goals at Wigan to almost ensure survival, that inch perfect pass to Danny Graham to score the winner against Arsenal, even winning Premier League Player of the Month (the only Swan to do so).

Sigurdsson 1

West Brom away in the snow, February 2012

Oddly though, he only scored one goal at the Liberty. In a 3-0 win against Blackburn, I was in New York later that year when I found out he’d agreed terms with the Swans and then later went to Spurs. I’ve always wanted him back at the Swans ever since. Not sure why I liked him so much, but I have waited two years to have his name on the back of my shirt (The club don’t charge per letter still do they?)

Fact you may not know: Sigurdsson has played for Shrewsbury and Crewe on loan

Gylfi Sigurdsson in pictures

Excuse my Sigurdsson obsession, but just take a few moments to savour these great moments. I did like that orange away kit…….

Sigurdsson 1 GS9 GS7 GS6 GS4 GS3 GS5 West Bromwich Albion v Swansea City - Premier League

Ben Davies

We have swapped a very good, young left footed left back for a creative midfield player who loves to shoot from distance. I know many are probably disappointed with the fee we received has not matched Man Utd’s £30m for Southampton’s Luke Shaw, but we know how over-inflated the transfer market can be, I don’t like clichés, but it’s true that a player is only worth what a club is willing to pay and there are never any consistencies with any transfer fees. I’m sure we have had players on the cheap in the past.

Soccer - Barclays Premier League - Swansea City v Stoke City - Liberty Stadium

And I guess if a player really wants to leave, then there’s not a lot we can do about it. Though I don’t think Ben Davies would be the type to cause discontent amongst his fellow professionals, but also Huw Jenkins has always been open and never stopped a player leaving should they want to. I’m hoping Davies has made a good move and from a Welsh point of view, improve as a player like Gareth Bale did (I am in no way making comparisons!).

Out of Vorm, Michel Out

He became Swansea’s third representative at a World Cup since 1958 (after Wilfried Bony and Ki Sung-Yeung, I don’t count de Guzman) for his 3 minute cameo against Brazil. Michel Vorm has also left for Spurs for an ‘undisclosed fee’ (Another phrase I hate) I feel a little sorry for him in the fact that he has probably been told he won’t be first choice at the Liberty after the arrival of Fabianski. I do tend to feel sorry for goalkeepers (apart from Hilario), as obviously you can only play one at one time and they are the only position on the pitch that don’t tend to get rotated/rested for League games.

Soccer - Barclays Premier League - Norwich City v Swansea City - Carrow RoadHow soon some people forget, yes he wasn’t the best last season, but what player was? I can hardly think of anyone who was consistently good, that Lambert goal for Southampton at the Liberty did some up his and everyone’s season though. I just worry about Tremmel as our reserve should Fabianski get injured/suspended/out of form. Perhaps he could’ve stayed to fight for his place, but I guess we all make our own choices in life. He won’t oust Lloris unless he gets injured, but will probably play in the Europa League.

Vorm was definitely more influencial and busier for us in our first Premier League season, those great penalty saves from Ben Watson (Wigan) and Clint Dempsey (Fulham) helped us towards survival and came at crucial times. So I thank him for that, didn’t leave like his fellow Dutchman Dorus de Vries did.

Fact you may not know: Roger Freestone was the first Swans goalkeeper to play against Brazil, back in 2000.

Jefferson Montero

At the time of writing Ecuadorian winger has not signed yet, but I’m guessing he probably will. Nothing is kept a secret for long on social media these days! I know nothing about him (and won’t pretend to), even though I did watch Ecuador play Honduras at the World Cup! But if Pablo Hernandez is leaving he will be the replacement, I still feel we need another winger but I look forward to seeing him play this season

MonteroMontero against Honduras for Ecuador at the World Cup

Fact you may not know: Montero will become the 4th South American to play for the Swans. The other 3 were Nicolas Mazzina & Federico Bessone (both Argentina) and Giovanni Savarese (Venezuela).

The coming season

I don’t take any notice of the results in friendlies, remember last season when Swans had gone unbeaten against sub standard opposition and Rory Donnelly was our top goalscorer with 6? (Danny Graham had scored the same number in friendlies the previous season). Canas was the next best thing and we were going to finish in the top 6.

None of that happened of course. My point is I have seen people raising concerns over this season, but for me it’s too early. Wilfried Bony hasn’t played any pre season yet, every player is used and most of the time a totally different eleven plays in each half, pre season is only really good for players gaining match fitness and maybe for the manager to try out a few things. Results are irrelevant.

Maybe we do need a few additions at the back, but the transfer window doesn’t shut for a fair few weeks yet. I read the other day that Everton haven’t signed anyone, still lots of time yet.

Leave a comment